If there’s one thing in life I know about very well, it’s being broke… (#collegestudentlife). 

It’s hard to find a job that works with my school schedule or keeps my weekends free to do my projects/assignments (and most importantly REST…what is that??). Because of that, I’m currently left scrounging for money or just avoiding situations where I have to spend money. I hate the fact that I have to decline invites to go out with people, because God knows I need a few drinks. I hate the fact that I have to leave myself out of things because I’m trying to make some extra money on the side. I can’t afford to buy new clothes or shoes to replace my worn out sneakers and dated wardrobe, because all I’m doing is trying to save up as much as I can and budget…So here I am having an existential crisis on the bathroom floor wondering what the f*** went wrong and why I have to struggle financially NOW out of all times. 

 I HATE being broke…

But am I really that broke?

—-

We spend so much of our time worrying about money, that we don’t see the things around us that makes us stable in spirit than in the bank. We’re always worrying about keeping up with the latest fashion trends, trying to impress people that could probably care less about us…but do we ever stop to think of where we are presently and how blessed we truly are to have what we have? Here are some to think about:
1. You have a roof over your head.

2. You ate something today.

3. You have a place to sleep.

4. You have friends.

5. You have family.

6. You have goals.

7. You have people who care about you.

8. You are loved.

9. You are doing what you need to do for your life right now.

10. You are alive.

Not many people will have the things that you have…some people would kill just to have somewhere safe to stay…or would do anything just to have someone to love…some people don’t even live long enough to experience life to the fullest…I’m not saying that you should liquidate your bank account and go live in the woods (because we kinda need to pay for stuff), all I’m saying is that we shouldn’t worry about money, because we can always do something to earn it back. But as for people and experiences, once they’re gone, there’s no getting them back.

Cherish every moment and every struggle you experience…because that is what will make you rich in spirit.

—–

Look at the birds. They don’t plant, harvest, or gather the harvest into barns. Yet, your heavenly Father feeds them. Aren’t you worth more than they?  Matthew 6:26

