In loving memory of Sam

This is my good friend Sam (The guy on the right…I’m on the left…don’t judge me, I like to cosplay haha).

I met him around six or seven years ago at my community college’s anime club, introduced to me by a friend. I was usually very shy when meeting new people, but for some reason, talking to him was like I had known him forever. It was the craziest thing. We both loved the goth, rocker, and raver cultures, anime, the occult, art, and photography…we just hit it off so well that it’s no wonder we became fast friends! From that point on, we would go the mall and hang out, meet up at cons and do cosplay photography, and from time to time have really deep or just completely random conversations online. He was so encouraging when I was upset and was always around if I needed to talk. I was hoping to go to Castle Point Anime Convention toward the end of April to hang out and do more cosplay photography (even though I ran out of money to do a new cosplay haha) but unfortunately my universitiy’s spring choir show is taking place on those days so I had to regretfully cancel those plans…

…Then I got news last night that he had passed away…

It came to me as a complete shock that I had just talked to him recently then suddenly he’s just…gone. Anyone who knew him can attest that he had a beautiful and gentle soul, always uplifting, compassionate, and kind. But apparently his soul was too good to be here on this plane of existence and he went home to Paradise.

It’s times like these when we realize at any moment life can be cut short. I’m not saying that you should go out and complete your bucket list ASAP, but more of taking the time to appreciate every moment we are given. Stop and take in everything in that moment; feel your surroundings, breathe, look around you, hear the sounds that surround you, appreciate that you are living in that moment, right there. I get that adult life can be hectic and busy, but we have to make even a little bit of time to appreciate the little things and spend time with friends and loved ones. You don’t want to wake up the next day and regret not spending that time with that friend or loved one, or taking the experience of living in the moment.

Hold your loved ones and friends a little bit closer today. Appreciate them. Appreciate the moment. Talk to them. Make plans for lunch. Time is precious…it’s up to you how you want to spend it and what you want to get out of it. Don’t let it go to waste.

Rest easy, Sammy. We’ll meet again.

